BonSouth, Koramangala

This place had been on my list for a long while, but we never got around to visiting it for some reason or the other. Over the long weekend, we decided to tick it off our list and went for lunch. But I was on one of my vegetarian streaks, and didn’t try out any of the non-vegetarian fares 🙂

BonSouth looks like a big village house with whitewashed walls and a mini garden. There’s a waiting area outside lined with cushions that add just the right pop of colour. The place is huge with plenty of seating available, both indoor and outdoor.

Servers were attentive and we were informed that starters would be served at our table. They served sweet lime water first, that was very refreshing. Though I don’t recollect the names of the dishes now, I’ll do my best to describe them 🙂

Cheese fingers: Deep-fried breaded mozzarella. There was nothing I didn’t like about this. Simple comfort food, gooey mozzarella rolled in bread crumbs and fried to perfection. Absolute bliss!

Chilli curd balls: This was some sort of sorbet consisting of yogurt and vanilla ice-cream with some red chilli flakes. I quite liked it. It was refreshing and the acidity of yogurt perfectly balanced the sweetness of ice-cream.

Gobhi 65: Frankly I don’t know what exactly is the difference between manchurian and 65 🙂 This one had cauliflower florets dipped in light cornflour batter and deep fried. It was crispy, delicious and not very spicy.

Paneer vadas: Small balls that tasted somewhat like Mangalore buns stuffed with cottage cheese and mozzarella.

Dhokla: While I love dhoklas, I was quite surprised to see them in a South Indian buffet. These were exceptionally good, but I would have preferred to see some traditional dish instead of this.

We then moved on to main course, which was neatly served in a nearby section. There were counters for sprout salads, fried red chillis, papads, pickles. Here’s what I had from the main course:

Fried red chilli: This deserves a special mention. Do try this at any South Indian buffet you go to. It’s not pungent, but retains the flavour of chilli and is packed with spices.

Bengal gram salad: I love boiled bengal gram, and this one had bengal gram mixed with grated coconut and green chillies.

Sambar: They served Tamilnadu style sambar which is a personal favourite. Nothing to fault here, this one was delicious.

Paneer gravy: I don’t remember the name of the gravy, it was something like methi(fenugreek) paneer and tasted good.

Kofta gravy: Koftas were soft and delicious, they were stuffed with some cottage cheese and gravy was nice as well.

Veg stew: I love stews and this dish was delectable. Smooth, creamy gravy of vegetables cooked in coconut milk.

We asked for appam, dosa and kerala paratha to go along with the gravies. Appams were light and fluffy, and I’ll definitely recommend them. Plain dosa was average, I found it rather bland. Kerala parathas were alright, though not as flaky and soft as I would have liked them to be.

Their dessert counter was outside, and had some icecreams, mousses, gulabjamun, fruits etc. I tried the gulabjamuns that were melt-in-your-mouth soft and delicious. They also had filter coffee that turned out to be a bit too milky for our taste.

I went to BonSouth hoping for more traditional dishes probably. You wouldn’t really want to go to such a place to have mozzarella fingers, isn’t it? But having said that, most of the dishes were quite tasty and we had a decent lunch. Will probably go back as a non-vegetarian next time and enjoy the other half of their spread 🙂

Ambiance: 3.5/5

Food: 3.5/5

Service: 3.5/5

BonSouth Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

