Smally’s Resto Cafe, Church Street

Looking for some yummy comfort food? Well, this is your place!

We landed here one hot sunny afternoon, hungry, tired and looking for cafes with parking places.

Smally’s is a small place with a sizeable menu on Church street. And it has valet parking!(we all know how hard it is to find a parking place in church street :))

The place was buzzing when we reached there for lunch. It almost looks like a college canteen, with small stools for seating, which I frankly didn’t find very comfortable.

Anyhow, we got seated and started scanning through their large menu. I don’t suppose I have come across a place that serves so many different kinds of burgers! But I wasn’t in a mood  for burgers and spotted one of my favourites chicken stroganoff. So I ordered for that and Mr. H asked for veg sliders. If you haven’t come across the term sliders before, it’s basically mini burgers.

The first floor here is another restaurant called Easy Tiger. The interesting thing is you could get seated at Easy Tiger for drinks and order food from Smally’s (Smally’s doesn’t serve booze). And that’s what we did since Easy Tiger is brighter and more spacious than Smally’s.

I’d been meaning to try out Bira 91 for a while because of all the hype surrounding it, and I think I can say I’ve found my beer now 🙂 Bira white tastes absolutely wonderful with a hint of citrus. For those who haven’t tried it yet, ditch your stellas and hoegaardens and try this.

Sliders arrived soon accompanied by fries and coleslaw. Fries were chunky and crisp. Sliders buns were soft and the patties tasted good.

My stroganoff took some time but was totally worth the wait. The gravy was rich and sinful and totally drool-worthy. Rice was perfectly cooked and seasoned. Chicken was not overcooked/chewy and mushrooms tasted amazing. I would highly recommend this.

Even though we were full by now, we decided to order a gobhi funchurian(their take on gobhi manchurian) and a round of bira blondes. This one is slightly more bitter than bira white, but really good.

Gobhi funchurian was crunchy but extremely spicy. I would have liked it more, had it not been doused in red chilli sauce 🙂

I really liked the place, their seating on first floor and delicious food. Both the restaurants are placed nicely, so you can go to Easy Tiger for drinks and order some delicious food from Smally’s. I would definitely go back when I go to church street next time.

Ambiance: 3.5/5

Food: 4/5

Service: 3/5

Smally's Resto Cafe Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a comment